What I’ve Been Reading: Friday, 8 June 2012

Not a lot, to be honest. I got back from Uruguay late Monday evening and have been running to stay in one place at work all week; if I hadn’t left my almost-finished book on the Buquebus I would have barely looked at anything online at all (yay?).

Photos to Provoke a Conversation on Race over at the New York Times Lens blog: this is interesting and confronting, and a reminder of how far we have to go, even in a society like that of the US where a discussion of civil rights was begun long ago.

I haven’t been able to keep up with the Egyptian elections as much as I would like, but I did read The Five Stages of Electoral Grief at Foreign Policy. I appreciated that it wasn’t a call to boycott the elections; I always wonder if that’s really the best path to take.

Back in Latin America, Fighting Mad over at Foreign Affairs is written by an anonymous human rights expert on the situation of female fighters in Colombia’s FARC. It’s certainly not disinterested, and I would contest that many of the dynamics described reflect Colombia- and Latin America-wide issues in terms of the treatment of women, but it’s a very interesting read.

I’m definitely, definitely not defending the FARC, here. Just sayin’.

Fun with borders!: Kohr Principles.

It’s not reading, but I did attend a very cool event organised by the Australian Embassy here in Buenos Aires last night (and around the world): Coral, Rekindling Venus.

(I never claimed the name was cool).

It was a short film displayed in the planetarium, featuring the coral and other biodiversity of Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. It moved the hell out of me, to be honest. And then I ran across this in the NY Times today: Are We Nearing a Planetary Boundary.

…the latest installment of an old debate between people who perceive hard ecological limits to human population and economic growth, as these authors do, and people who think innovation will ultimately save the day, as it has done so often in the past.

If waiting until innovation saves the day means living in a world without marvels like the Reef, they can keep it.

It’s circular cos, like I said, it was made to be played in planetariums. Imagine you’re practically inside the image, and your chair is vibrating with the music, and you got it.

Leave a Reply

